Image Promo description

Register to use our site and access free newsletters, book events and lots more.

You don't have to be a member to use our site. Already registered? Login here

Become a member today

The Chartered Institute of Housing is the independent voice for housing and the home of professional standards

CIH Scotland name Excellence Award winners


The winners of Scotland’s annual awards for excellence in housing were announced at a special awards dinner at the Radisson Blu, Glasgow attended by over 400 guests from across the housing sector. Growing each year since its inception, this year’s CIH Excellence Awards received a record number of entries with over 100 projects, teams and individuals applying over eighteen award categories.

Homes for Good were presented with the award for Excellence in the Private Rented Sector. Access to Opportunities from North Lanarkshire Council won the Excellence in Delivering Homelessness Services award.

Transforming our frontline response to domestic abuse of the Wheatley Group received the Excellence in Learning and Development award. Culture Club of Port of Leith Housing Association won the Excellence in Organisational Change award.

Communities Fun Day from South Ayrshire Council received the Excellence in Communications award. We’re awake when you are! of River Clyde Homes were presented with the award for Excellence in Customer Service.

Laurieston Living of Urban Union won the award for Excellence in Regeneration. Roman Fields, Twechar of Places for People received the award for Excellence in Development for Affordable Housing.

Scrutiny & Performance groups from South Ayrshire Council won the award for Excellence in Scrutiny. The 415 Living Well Innovation Hub of Glasgow Housing Association received the Excellence in Housing Innovation award.

Wellwynd Hub of East Lothian Council was presented with the award for Excellence in Health and Wellbeing. Community Safety - CCTV Services to Housing, of North Lanarkshire Council, won the Professional Service Provider of the Year award.

Margaret Kelly, Ann Pickering, Eleanor O'Brien, Karen McGettigan, Stephen Llewellyn, and Clare Varghese, from North Lanarkshire Council, received the Housing Team of the Year award.

Individual awards went to Marion Rayner from Berwickshire Housing Association, who won the Margaret Vass - Excellence in Frontline Housing award. Jennifer Russell of Glasgow Housing Association who received the Excellence in Leadership award. Roger Popplewell from Maryhill Housing Association won the award for Outstanding Contribution to Housing. Jenna Lamb of the Wheatley Group was presented with the Apprentice of the Year award. Kyle McKay from South Ayrshire Council received the Bob Allan – Young Achiever in Housing award.

Callum Chomczuk, director of CIH Scotland said “It has been a wonderful night here at the 2019 Excellence Awards. With over 400 attendees, it is an event that keeps growing each year, and I am delighted that so many could attend to celebrate good practice within the housing sector. Across those who won and were shortlisted, there was an impressive standard of excellence, and everyone should be proud of what they have achieved.

“As CIH is the home for professional standards, this event is not just about celebrating good practice, it is about disseminating good practice. Accordingly, we will be releasing the good practice compendium following the awards to share what we have seen here across the sector.”

Please log in to comment

Your comments

No comments made yet

Join today

We’re here to help you make a difference. Join CIH today and discover your potential


Fire safety

All the latest info and fire safety resources for housing professionals


The new housing apprenticeships

With a century of experience equipping housing professionals with the skills they need to do the brilliant work they do, we can help you make the most of the new housing apprenticeships – whatever stage of the journey you are at.