The qualification is a SCQF level 5 vocationally related qualification for the housing sector, regulated by SQA Accreditation. The objective of this qualification is to provide you with an introduction to housing and to working in the sector.

What will I learn?

  1. Housing provision and housing organisations (mandatory)
    The range of services offered by landlords and housing organisations, who they deliver them with and how they are financed. Features of housing tenure and the relationship between landlord and tenant.
  2. Customer service for housing (mandatory)
    How to deal with customers and have an awareness of equality and diversity.
  3. Professional development in housing (mandatory)
    The range of roles in housing and what is required to fulfil them. You will explore your personal professional development.
  4. Assets, repairs and maintenance (mandatory)
    The main types of dwellings across the housing stock and how they are maintained and repaired.

To achieve the qualification you must pass all four units.

Who can apply to study for this qualification?

You will be aspiring to or working in the housing sector to study the CIH Certificate in Housing Practice SCQF level 5. If you are working in the housing sector and have not yet got a qualification, this is the one for you.

Choose how you study

Our approved study centres are fully equipped to deliver CIH qualifications. Centres will support you on your journey, working to the specification and the learning outcomes for each course. Courses can be offered on a part-time, full-time, blended or via online learning.

Find a study centre